About the Symposium

   Nanotechnology is an emerging scientific field that utilizes the novel properties of nanomaterials to develop products and enhance processes to make them more efficient and sustainable. Important to Alberta’s economy, nanotechnology has found applications in energy, the environment, health, medical technologies, agriculture and forestry. By improving the sustainability of industries while developing new technologies, more jobs can be generated which in turn will enhance the economy. At the fundamental level, research in nanotechnology will fuel these developments. 

   The Alberta Nano Research Symposium will be co-hosted by the University of Alberta nanoGroup and the University of Calgary nanoGroup. It will be held at Westerner Park in Red Deer, May 3-4, 2018. This year’s theme is “Celebrating Diversity in Nanoscience”. This event will be geared towards sharing knowledge, as well as to promote the development of new collaborations with experts in the field. Researchers from all areas of nanotechnology are encouraged to attend the symposium.  Specifically, innovative synthesis and characterization techniques, as well as fabrication and devices towards applications in biomedicine, energy conversion and storage will be explored. Undergraduate students, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and faculty members across Alberta will be invited to share their research in nanotechnology through oral and poster presentations. As such, this event will target academics from the University of Alberta, University of Calgary and the Northern Institute of Technology. Researchers from outside the province of Alberta are also highly encouraged to attend.


   The agenda will include keynote speakers, poster and oral presentations, and a networking session. Light refreshments and food will be provided throughout the conference for attendees.

Contact Us

Direct your questions to nanotech@ualberta.ca 

Co-chair: Nicole Jankovic

Co-chair: Nicolas Macia

Co-chair: Vladimir Kabanov

University of Alberta Organizing Committee:

Nicole Jankovic - President

Christopher Jay Robidillo - VP Finance

Md Wazedur Rahman - VP Research 

Eric Milburn - VP Marketing

Haoyang (Emmett) Yu - VP Marketing

Yucheng Wu - Secretary 

Nabil Khalid - Member-at-Large

Gayashani Ginige - Member-at-Large 

Mubshra Arshad - Member-at-Large ​


University of Calgary Organizing Committee:

Nicolas Macia - Co-President

Vladimir Kabanov - Co-President

Alison Fulton - VP Communication & Finances

Stephanie Bonvicini - VP Outreach 

Zahra Abooali Zadeh - VP Academic

Milad Ahmadi Khoshooei - VP Operations

Dr. Audrey Laventure - Member-at-Large

© AlbertaNanoSymposium 2018. Proudly created with Wix.com

Platinum Sponsors